The Philharmonic Winds

Home Page

Singapore Compose! Results

February 27th, 2010

A very big thank you to all the composers who submitted their works to the inaugural Singapore Compose! We are delighted and most encouraged by the response by our local composers, who submitted a total of 20 works for evaluation by the international panel of judges via a blind audition process.

The judges have completed their evaluation and we are pleased to announce the three composers and their works which will be performed at the Singapore Compose! concert on 10 April 2010, 7.30pm at the Esplanade Concert Hall.

Chen Zhangyi Toward Dawn
Bernard Lee Kah Hong There Is No Date Tree On The Maroon Sky
Wang Chenwei Rhythm of the City

We would also like to thank the four judges for taking the time to adjudicate:

  • Dr David Dzubay, award-winning composer, Professor of Music and Chair of Composition, Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, USA
  • Mr Giles Easterbrook, former Editor for Maecenas Music and Novellos Music, independent scholar, lecturer and writer, UK
  • Mr Adam Gorb, award-winning composer, Head of School of Composition, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester, UK
  • Mr Leonard Tan, Music Director, The Philharmonic Winds, Singapore

Once again, we would like to sincerely thank each and everyone who participated in the open call. We hope that you will continue to compose and create music!

One Response to “Singapore Compose! Results”

  1. The Philharmonic Winds » Philwinds Archive » The Philharmonic Winds presents Singapore Compose!

    [...] addition, new music by Chen Zhangyi, Bernard Lee and Wang Chenwei, selected by an international panel from submissions [...]

Leave a Reply


Recent Comments

Previous Entries

Copyright © The Philharmonic Winds. All rights reserved.
Terms | Privacy | Credits | Contact Us
a useful site